Mindless Self Indulgence (commonly referred to as MSI) is a New York-based band. They have previously described their music as "industrial jungle pussy punk." Their style has elements of electronica, and hip hop. However, their music can be best described as shock rock.



The band formed in 1995. They have released five full-length albums and a number of EPs and remixes. Their music is influenced by early 1980s culture. It frequently contains samples of early 80's hip-hop or rock, as well as chiptune-style beeps and tones. Their second album as a band, 1999's "Tight", was mixed on Atari-style equipment.

They have opened for a number of mainstream acts, including System of a Down, Korn, Staind, Sum 41, Mushroomhead, Insane Clown Posse, Rammstein, and My Chemical Romance. They have also played many large musical festivals including Voodoo Music Experience in New Orleans in October of 2003, as well as headlining the Mojave tent at the 2004 Coachella Festival. They also recently headlined the "Revolution Stage" for The Projekt Revolution Tour and were part of 2007 "Give it a Name" Festival.

The band's next record, titled "IF" is slated for release on April 29th through The End Records/UCR. The band will be doing a small tour with The Birthday Massacre around the USA to celebrate the release.



M dot Strange, (director of We Are the Strange), is set to direct MSI's next music video for the as of yet unreleased song "Animal"

Additionally, another official video is being made for the also unreleased track "Mark David Chapman." The video is being directed by the winner of the "Straight to Video" response contest on Youtube, Mike Diva. ("Mark David Chapman" was available for downloaded for free for a short amount of time on MSI's Myspace Page earlier in 2007. It is unknown if it will be edited or changed from that original version.)

In the near future, Mindless Self Indulgence is scheduled to be playing in Australia. All upcoming dates in Australia are available on their MySpace and Soundwave homepage. They will be performing with such bands as The Offspring, and Incubus among others.





Jimmy Urine

Little Jimmy Urine in Dec of 2003.
Little Jimmy Urine in Dec of 2003.

Jimmy Urine formerly Little Jimmy Urine, also referred to as just Urine (born James Euringer) does Vocals and Programming for Mindless Self Indulgence. He was born on September 7, 1969 in New York, New York. He grew up with his older brother Markus J. Euringer. The first album he released as "Mindless Self-Indulgence" was a Self-titled, which differed from most of Mindless Self Indulgence's later work, focusing mainly on an Industrial music style. He made most of this album by himself except for guitar by Steve, Righ? on one track. He and guitar player Steve Righ? have a side project called "The Left Rights", a 39 track album that was self produced.

In an interview with Shoutweb he claims to have been arrested in Detroit on charges of indecent exposure while on tour with the Insane Clown Posse. He ingests his own urine during performances.

He is married to Chantal Claret, lead singer of the band Morningwood.

Steve, Righ?

Steve, Righ? in Dec of 2003.
Steve, Righ? in Dec of 2003.

Steve, Righ? (Born Steven Montano) plays guitar in Mindless Self Indulgence. He first contributed guitar to "Bed of Roses" on Mindless Self Indulgence's self-titled (see above). He got the name "Steve, Righ?" from someone approaching him at a show saying, "You're Steve, righ'?...". He was replaced by Rob Kleiner for a brief time while he was hospitalized in late 2004 to early 2005 due to a hip injury. This still hasn't stopped him from performing in later shows.

Besides contributing to "Bed Of Roses," Steve has also co-written a handful of songs with Jimmy Urine, which include (but are not limited to) Dicks Are For My Friends, Golden I, and Seven-Eleven. With Mindless Self Indulgence, he has written the last two songs on the album Frankenstein Girls Will Seem Strangely Sexy: Whipstickagostop and Z, both of which he performs the lead vocals on.



Lyn-z at the Avalon Club in NYC on May 12, 2006
Lyn-z at the Avalon Club in NYC on May 12, 2006

Lyn-Z (born Lindsey Ann Ballato) plays bass in Mindless Self Indulgence. She was born on May 22, 1976 in Connecticut. She moved to New York to study art, before she was in Mindless Self Indulgence she played in a Punk Rock Dolly Parton cover band. She joined the band in 2001 after the former bass player Vanessa YT left the band. She is currently working with HUNG, a traveling art exhibit based on various visual artists. She along with Jorden Haley contributed to the art for You'll Rebel to Anything. Lyn-Z often dresses in school girl uniforms, with a touch of her own personal style. She did marry Gerard Way, vocalist of My Chemical Romance. in late 2007.


Kitty at the Avalon Club in NYC on May 12, 2006
Kitty at the Avalon Club in NYC on May 12, 2006

Kitty plays drums in Mindless Self Indulgence; she joined the band in 1997 as a permanent member. She usually plays a small drum kit. She usually wears thick pink make-up and pigtails. Her outfit normally has a big white "K"(which stands for "Kitty") painted in front. Kitty also designed and ran the offical website back when Frankenstein Girls Will Seem Strangely came out.


Former members

Vanessa YT

Vanessa YT played bass in Mindless Self Indulgence. She joined the band in 1998 and played bass during the "Tight" era up to 2001. When first asked about why she left, Jimmy said that she was becoming an astronaut, but it was later said that she left to start a family.

Markus J. Euringer

Markus is Jimmy Urine's older brother. He contributed to a few songs on their earlier albums until he retired to write horror novels.

Past live guests

  • Alan Euringer- Electronics
  • Kenny Muhammad- Turntables/Beat-boxing
  • Rob Kleiner(Tub Ring) - Guitar/Live Keyboards

Side projects

Both Urine and Steve, Righ? are involved in a side project, under the name The Left Rights.


Main article: Mindless Self Indulgence Discography
  • Mindless Self-Indulgence - January 1, 1995
  • Tight - April 20, 1999
  • Frankenstein Girls Will Seem Strangely Sexy - February 22, 2000
  • Alienating Our Audience - October 8, 2002
  • Despierta Los Niños - November 1, 2003
  • You'll Rebel to Anything - April 12, 2005 US Billboard 200 #107
  • Another Mindless Rip Off - December 5, 2006
  • IF - April 2008


"Our Pain, Your Gain" was first released on September 5, 2007 as a concert promo, and was released in stores on September 11, 2007. It is their first DVD.

Official music videos

  • "Bring the Pain"
  • "Bitches" (Live) – Directed by Alexander Serpico
  • "Tornado" (Live)
  • "Panty Shot" (Live)
  • "Molly" (Live)
  • "You'll Rebel to Anything (As Long as It's Not Challenging)" – Directed by James Galus and Alexander Serpico
  • "Diabolical" – Directed by Alexander Serpico
  • "Shut Me Up" – Directed by Jhonen Vasquez
    • The beginning and ending of the video "Shut Me Up" is a parody of the 1936 propaganda film Reefer Madness, using footage from the film. The background music in the beginning is a slowed-down version of the opening to their song, "Bullshit," and the music at the end is the same snippet, but backmasked.
  • "Straight to Video" – Directed by Poz Lang
  • "Animal" - Directed by M. Dot Strange
  • "Mark David Chapman" Directed by Mike Diva